Japan raises travel advisory for 16 countries, region

Japan raises travel advisory for 16 countries, region

Japan on Tuesday raised its travel advisory for Palestine and 16 countries, including Nepal, Kenya and Venezuela, warning against going to them amid concerns over the spread of the novel coronavirus.

Foreign Minister Toshimitsu Motegi said the areas are now at Level 3, bringing the total number of countries and regions at the second-highest level on the Foreign Ministry’s four-point scale for infectious diseases to 146.

The other newly added areas are Botswana, the Comoros, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Namibia, Paraguay, the Republic of the Congo, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Sudan, Suriname and Uzbekistan.

They are expected to be added to a list of countries and regions subject to an entry ban for foreign travelers after discussion by the National Security Council.

“We are seeing a resurgence of infections in the United States, and it is continuing to spread in South America and Africa,” Motegi told a press conference.

International travel to and from Japan has slowed to a trickle due to border controls imposed to slow the spread of COVID-19, the respiratory disease caused by the coronavirus. The numbers of foreign visitors and outbound Japanese nationals have both plunged more than 99 percent in recent months compared to a year earlier.

The United States, China and all of Europe are among the 129 countries and regions already covered by the entry ban, which applies to foreign nationals who have been to any of the areas within two weeks of arriving in Japan.

At the same time, Prime Minister Shinzo Abe’s government is looking to soften the economic blow of the coronavirus by partially reopening borders to parts of the world that have the pandemic under control.


დატოვე კომენტარი

დაამატე კომენტარი

თქვენი ელფოსტის მისამართი გამოქვეყნებული არ იყო. აუცილებელი ველები მონიშნულია *